Emancipation

I wait in the confines of Labeca, my prison, in the searing darkness that is near the centre of the earth. My patience must be stretched until the time of man has ended, that I may join the formerly mighty cherub, Luciferus, in the hell that has been prepared for him after the effrontery of his rebellion. My brashness and consequent transgression is ever before me. I do not allow myself to wallow in my sin, for there is naught purpose in it. But my eternal mind cannot but recall moments past and force my attention to them, for there is little else to do in this dreadful isolation. Perhaps this is a part of the judgment, for each forced recall elicits agony of rebellion. My mind wanders over antiquity.

…I recall that moment when the Elders gave me the task of overseeing holy Enoch for a time because the evil that Man had accomplished could soon threaten his survival. It is a moment I now curse, in retrospect.

…the moment when I had first seen her as she reveled in the waters of the Euphrates, as near perfection as fallen man could be, and decided to desire her. I watched her, enamored by the sleekness of her form and the graceful manner of her movement until she was done.

…that night, years later, when I prematurely ended my watch over father Enoch while he slumbered, and sought her out.

…how, in the heat of lust I enslaved myself to, I slew an evil man and took on his flesh; and at that moment stepped into reality before I approached the household and drew them all into slumber, save my goal. When I saw her, my spirit reached to hers and an understanding was reached. She sensed unearthly perfection before her, and her longing for it sealed my fate.

…the end when my essence was bound with her flesh and the deed was done.

…the moment my desire was washed away after the deed and I fled from her presence to resume my watch over Enoch. It was the last time. With her.

The promise of pleasure was the bait that drew me into the trap of lying with flesh and blood.

…I remember when I first heard his shrill cries from furlongs away and realized that he was mine, product of my flesh and spirit.

…I, the Ancestor of the Nephilim. The others came quickly and matured in like pace. Big and mighty they were and helpless before them I was. They imposed their will over all, and became a festering sore on the face on the earth. My sin I could not cleanse, for they resisted my onslaught. Wearied, I gave up, for they had inherited their invincibility from their father. True sons they were.  Then did I realize the effrontery of my sin, to proceed to do that which even Yahweh had not.

…I remember when Mosadiel, the Cherub, came into my presence with the decree of my banishment and the judgment of my evil progeny. I could not blame another for my transgression, for I was an angel, and my will is sovereign. My sin I must stand by.

…then, when I roamed the hidden places of the earth after the crossing over of Enoch. Luciferus and his clan came to me and pitched outright rebellion to me, but I resisted him, for I could never be as brazen as the Throne.

…I remember in the time of Noah when the judgment of Yahweh came to pass, and I watched helplessly as heaven sanctioned the Great Flood, the only way to wipe out the Nephilim that trod the earth under their feet and slandered the heavens above their heads. I watched them all perish beneath the deluge with all humanity who had fallen from grace, and waited for what I knew would come soon.

…when the Seraph came to me and took me captive. Under the earth did he take me to a place hollowed out for my dwelling, and in chains did he bind me that my imprisonment would come with the discomfort of perfect stillness. The length of my sequestration was to be the length of man’s time.

……………………………………

 My horse neighs below me in the darkness. I grab the reins in an attempt to silence it, while I wait for my time to be fulfilled. The trumpets have sounded and mind roams over my plight.

Only but a moment before did my warden Seraph come to my prison and extricate me. A new purpose had been set for me. In praise, I took it, for it held the promise of my being considered for, at most, a punishment that is not parallel to being with Luciferus in his Hell for eternity. maybe even a form of redemption, but I fear to hope, for I cannot excuse my sin. I am an Angel.

 I was once Ihumarel, The fifth General in the war against the formerly mighty Luciferus. Now, the earth shall tremble when the power of my new name and position is unleashed upon them.

I am War, the second horseman of the Apokalyps.

……………………………….

“…when the lamb opened the second seal, I heard the second living creature say, “come”…”

The second seal is broken, and the darkness falls all around me. My horse promptly leaps into reality, bringing the design of my purpose into bear. I ride through the halls of the greatest leaders of men, leaving fumes of violence. True to prophecy, the minions of Lucifer prod and kick their vessels into declaring war on themselves for the basest of reasons. Soon my task is complete. Man has truly gone beyond my expectations. The first nuclear war is won by the first nation to drop nuclear ordnance, it is over quickly and the result is awesome. 

But I am not done. Respite shall not come with such ease.

 As I ride back into the heavenly reality, a wondrous thing happens. Yahweh speaks to me. A new thing he has given me, a choice I will take over the everlasting fires of hell. The heaviness in my heart is all but vanished now as I ascend above the clouds into space and turn my mount towards the earth. With a small prayer of praise, I plunge towards the largest continent. My path is not random, for my goal looms before me.

The ground rushes towards me. I feel nothing. Perhaps a little joy at the fate that awaits me after my purpose is accomplished. Hell is as a forgotten thing for me. Luciferus shall perish forever in loneliness. Before me looms the largest plantation in all the earth. The fields fill my view while my horse neighs with reckless abandon, spewing brimstone and sulfur. I see each head of corn and grain of rice clearly now, and hear something of Yahweh’s voice again.

A new way I give you, and a new thing I will do

Another purpose shall you accomplish

and go back from whence you came

for there is no place in the heavens for you

I shall fulfill prophecy. My fate is sealed.

“…when the lamb opened the third seal, I heard the second living creature say, “come”…”

 My latest name resounds in my mind as I make a cataclysmic contact with the ground and destroy everything on it.

Famine

Hell shall not have me, for oblivion beckons.

 *********

by the hand of Mosadiel, the fifth cherub who bears witness, under the unction of the omniscience of Yahweh.

* * * *  * *

show some emotion in the comments section.

*squints seriously at post and exits blog while walking backwards slowly

20 comments on “Emancipation

  1. GranmaLuwiesCloset says:

    “sequestration”-please wot does ds mean abeg, I’m too scared to check.
    Nice piece again. Iv told u wot I plan to do wd u wen I catch u abi? (Vbot d cage alredy).

  2. niyoola says:

    Yawns

    the post is too long, I lost interest by the 2nd paragraph 😐
    If you are going to keep writing about these beings, it shouldn’t sound like a nagging & rambling ancient.

  3. phantompages says:

    Ekwem you’re depressing me with your awesomeness…its not fair..share talent small na 😥

  4. Oh freaking wow. Mind = blown.

  5. Director Solomon says:

    interesting piece, tho thematicaly vague, unless it is ur intention.

  6. dhamyhan says:

    The ‘this post is too long’ people again…….Do u’all even read novels at all?….anyways nice poost Ekwe,what can I say,ur writing was once again,ethereal.

  7. I have said it before the brand of your weed is divine! Awesome Literature

  8. this is scary…. i already feel like the second coming is tommorow…. **now making the finger pyramid of contemplation**

  9. Nimrodking says:

    Nice piece as usual but i must say that i’ve read better works than this from u ….. Still cant wait 2 read ur works published in Hard-cover(I’ll keep praying 4 u)…..

  10. beautiful madness. i hereby name you the chronicler. * emmm whatever that means*

  11. PreyingMantis says:

    Reading the first 5 paragraphs of this story was a struggle. The writing was disjointed and loose, it eventually picks up in subsequent paragraphs.

    1st Paragraph: “…for their is naught purpose in it”. ‘there’ instead of ‘their’.
    3rd Paragraph: “…the moment when I had first seen her as she reveled in the waters of the Euphrates, as near perfection as fallen man could be, and decided to desire her”. This sentence is obscure. Is it ‘I decided to desire her’ or what??
    4th Paragraph: “…that night, years later, when I prematurely ended my watch over father Enoch while he slumbered, and sought her out.” (same as comment on the 3rd paragraph).
    5th Paragraph: “…how, in the heat of lust I enslaved myself to, I slew…”. Enslaved myself to what??
    Still on the same paragraph: “..and at that moment stepped entered reality”. Either stepped into reality or entered reality. English isn’t usually this complicated.
    11th Paragraph: I would like to know, is an angel’s will truly ‘sovereign’? If yes, then what is Yahweh’s will?

    Compare paragraphs 11 and 12 with the 2nd to the last paragraph. Some inconsistencies here. From paragraph 11 and 12, the angel had been banished and roamed the hidden places of the earth, at this time, Luciferus also tried to recruit him for the rebellion. In the 2nd to the last paragraph, this same angel is Ihumarel, the 5th general in the war against Luciferus.

    How is this possible? Was he recalled from banishment to fight against Luciferus or is this just an oversight?

    20th paragraph: This angel of war leaves fumes of violence while true to prophesy, minions of Lucifer (which should be Luciferus btw) prod and kick their vessels (humans) into declaring war on themselves. Based on this information, has the angel of war truly carried out his task if Luciferus’ minions have their vessels declaring war on themselves?

    The subtlety with which certain information is passed on in the story is decent eg: ‘largest continent’, the reference to a ‘nuclear war’.

    E for Effort.

    • BugSpray says:

      E for Effort.
      I might not be needed here afterall.
      Very much like the other posts here; some will call it another snoozefest but I now know this is your way of staying safe. Even though it felt rushed, allow me to say well done. Preying Mantis has pointed out some of the questions I would have asked and he raised others I missed.
      I will step aside for your loyal members to do what they do best but not before saying, dear Prophet Ekwem, I’m still waiting to be entertained.

      • mahnyuell says:

        but errmm if you come to think of it, you were never needed in the first place *shrugs*

      • Ekwe says:

        *sigh
        i shall not do this with you today, but i am curios as to what “some will call it another snoozefest but I now know this is your way of staying safe. ” actually means.

    • Ekwe says:

      i don’t really understand you but…
      3rd Paragraph: “…the moment when I …….. and decided to desire her” does it clear it up?

      4th Paragraph: “…that night, years later, when I ……. sought her out.”
      they are long sentences but their subjects and objects are obviously clear

      5th Paragraph: “…how, in the heat of lust I enslaved myself to, I slew…”. Enslaved myself to what?? er…to lust. maybe the article “the” should have come before “lust”

      thanks for the “stepped” and “their” corrections jare. i don’t see these things after reading for the billionth time.

      the last question is theological, and I wrote this story based on my own understanding.
      in the reality of this story, the angels are sovereign. but they sovereignty is only as touted as it is because they have no devils/demons they can blame their terrible actions on. they can do terrible things, but they will pay for it.

      its not an oversight. he is telling you that was he was a general in the war against luciferus before he sinned and Lucifer tried to recruit him into his fold. get it? its a timeline issue, i guess.

      I confess this writing was a bit difficult because it fet like i was writing an Inception kinda thing. a memory inside a memory inside a memory. sorry for the confusion.

      “20th paragraph: This angel of war leaves fumes of violence while true to prophesy, minions of Lucifer (which should be Luciferus btw) prod and kick their vessels (humans) into declaring war on themselves. Based on this information, has the angel of war truly carried out his task if Luciferus’ minions have their vessels declaring war on themselves?”

      yes. they are humans. their desires are not theirs. God sent Jesus to die, yet it was Satan that incited judas to kill him.

      God sent the Horseman of War against the earth, it is the devil, who will bring it to bear (in this story)

      E for Effort. this makes me laugh.

  12. mahnyuell says:

    love this blog but i didnt enjoy this though 😦 not a big fan of the theme, and the post was actually really long, and i got lost somewhere in the middle, the didnt seem to connect

  13. Tomboxe says:

    Okay first thing first it’s not as good as Mosadiel. I also think people saying this is long should go and die. It’s too short. We hardly get to get into his mind, and only scratch the surface of how he felt on realising how deeply his indiscretion affected the celestial timeline.
    Good, but could be way better. I like the idea of him being a horseman. Twice.

  14. […] Mosadiel is my favorite name for my fictional cherub. I have written about him on this blog here, here and here […]

Leave a comment